Insular Pacific Maritime Boundaries

Insular Pacific Maritime Boundaries

While previously limited to Hawaiʻi, Voyager’s “maritime boundaries” category has been spatially expanded to include our other PacIOOS regions throughout the insular Pacific. Using data from the NOAA Office of Coast Survey, the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) is now provided for Hawaiʻi, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Guam, the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), the Republic of Palau, and U.S. Minor Outlying Islands. In addition, the Territorial Sea and Contiguous Zone boundaries (12 and 24 nautical miles from shore, respectively) are provided for American Samoa, CNMI, Guam, and the U.S. Minor Outlying Islands. A Google Earth KML/KMZ file containing these boundaries is also available at

Voyager Screenshot

Recent Posts

Did you know?

PacIOOS is the first regional association that was certified as a Regional Information Coordination Entity (RICE) by the U.S. Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS). Certification provides NOAA and its interagency partners a means to verify that a regional association’s organizational and operational practices, including data management, meet recognized and established standards set by NOAA.